They Are Smarter Than You Think!

What all this has to do with kids, you may ask? I guess they are the adults of our future who will have created these means of communicating we ever dreamed of since the first visual lessons found in the caves of Lascaux!

BUS_Quiz


“Imagination is more important than knowledge.
For knowledge is limited to all
we now know and understand,
while imagination embraces the entire world,
and all there ever will be to know and understand.”
– Albert Einstein


I do not know if you have ever seen that little quiz and tried it of course. I you did not have the answer you’d feel probably like the many who did not, yet 90% of the young ones were able to answer correctly!

Sometimes adults speak to children in a tone nearing infantilism, thinking they would not understand. You would be surprised how much they do understand us. It is just using the proper expressions and the appropriate words. Kids are like most people on a continuous learning process, we need to keep in mind they will learn the way we teach them.

I remember as a father, thinking that my kids would never understand “adult” expressions, I felt the need to “adapt” some words convinced that would be easier for them. I never realized how wrong I was. I remember when my elder was three years old, she used one of my “words” to ask for cooked rice, the persons who knew the meaning of it were us her parents and of course herself. Just imagine when her baby sitter felt lost when she asked to have some cooked rice, then cried and kept on asking to eat, in her own words as learned from her parents!

When I failed a couple of times to answer that little quiz (see picture at the top), I realized how, we adults, tend to complicate our thinking about the basics of logics.

I am pretty sure you must have hundreds of examples proving the pertinence of kids’ abilities to learn and understand matters we assume only adults are capable of.

When educational news started speaking of kids learning to code, I confess I had a subjective reaction, judging this was the influence of new technologies and obviously manufacturers who inevitably wanted to ensure their future consumers to adopt their products, you know thinking there’s a conspiracy theory behind almost anything we don’t grasp. I realized how wrong I was. Learning to code early would provide to the coming generation with new means to engage easily into their adult age and its requirements and realities. If it sounded unusual in 2015, how natural would it be in 2035!

Imagine if in the 60’s r the 70’ when Arthur C. Clarke spoke of cell-phones and Internet, of interspace telecommunications, at a time when none of this existed! Remember on the epic Star Trek sage when they used their numeric pads for reading reports, no one spoke of tablets at that time, or the symbols coded language Data the android was using to communicate with other races and different cultures.

I would not make false assumptions that we reached these realities today.

Kids deserve to be considered with respect the same manner adults share such respect among themselves. Regardless of age gaps, young ones will always amaze and surprise us through the ease they can be in logic thinking.

I agree that many of us are resisting and fighting change, that change that is going ways faster than we have been prepared for. Less than 20 years ago, we were at the baby steps of popular computing, today we have at our disposal portable tools that connect us to the entire planet, most likely n 20 years from now we will find very normal communication with space travellers or settlers on the moon or planet Mars, maybe further.

What all this has to do with kids, you may ask? I guess they are the adults of our future who will have created these means of communicating we ever dreamed of since the caves of Lascaux!

ʺI received the fundamentals of my education in school, but that was not enough. My real education, the superstructure, the details, the true architecture, I got out of the public library. For an impoverished child whose family could not afford to buy books, the library was the open door to wonder and achievement, and I can never be sufficiently grateful that I had the wit to charge through that door and make the most of it.” – Isaac Asimov

Until our next chat,

Michel – May 12, 2015


 

Laisser un commentaire / Please Add a Comment

